egregious ’80’s: time for requests

we interrupt this guilty pleasure monday for a general announcement. you may not like it. you have been warned…

november is coming around; and those of you who have been with me for all these years know what THAT means…

nablopomo!

yes, national blog posting month. every year for the past few years, i have been making a concerted effort to blog every single day in the month of november. i tend to pick a theme (or few) and beat it to death attract people who probably ought to get better hobbies rather than arguing with me over the idea that the song playground in my mind has redeeming qualities start lively discussions. it’s a lot of fun, and i make a lot of new bloggy friends this way, many of whom i am quite good friends with now. (and no, i am not being stalked. yet. i think.)  in november 2007, i took on several leitmotifs: best and worst children’s books ever (it was a bonding moment when i discovered that i am not the only person who loathes the giving tree) as well as great grownups music for kids.

last year, i took on the now-legendary blatantly bad ’70s music. and make no mistake about it: people out there do respond to this delightful tiptoe through some truly awful music.  oh, the agony of the earworms! oh, the pain of hearing people defend why wildfire is just the most. amazing. song. evah. oh, the magic of songs like  i’ve been to paradise, but i’ve never been to me! yes, i had to do penance for that monthus terribulus by providing an entire month of guilty pleasure mondays that were good 1970s songs. songs like bad blood by neil sedaka and elton john.

you’re welcome.

it was so much fun to crucify some of the worst in ’70s music that i thought, hell, why not go after the eighties? that’s my primary era, and there’s so much crap there — some wildly obvious. so i’m making a list and checking it twice. and in november, hold onto your izods and your jheri curls, cos i’m going to attempt to corral some of the most awful offenders on your then-radio dial. (or MTV station, back when Music Video Television actually played videos.)

so please: share your requests in the comments section below or on my contact page. (not on my facebook page, please, as i will lose your stuff in a matter of days when the comments go south.)

the request line is open.

(and, as always, guilty pleasure monday gets suspended in november so you can get all the earworms i can squeeze into a month. bad ones, that is.)

14 Responses to “egregious ’80’s: time for requests”

  1. The first song to enter my brain –and torture it — is “White Lines” by GrandMaster Flash. It played so many times at the clubs in the ’80s I wanted to rip out my eardrums. Another, “Sugar Walls” by Sheena Easton, made my stomach turn. I’m sure you will have more than enough material for NaBloPoMo with this theme.

  2. two which are definitely in the running. i loathe white lines and was chagrined when duran duran covered it!!! and sugar walls? yeccccccch!

    thanks, momzombie!

  3. Pretty much anything by Lionel Richie. Say You, Say Me. All Night Long. Dancing on the Ceiling. These are the songs you hear before you die. Mr. Mister has a special place in hell as well.

    Anything by Taco, Falco, Poco, Ca-ca, Poo-poo, etc.

  4. Samantha Fox – Anything

  5. So many to choose from. What hasn’t already been said about “We Built This City?” Anything by the Scorpions probably rates. All of High Infidelity. Ditto Escape. Actually “Don’t Stop Believin'” should get its own month. “Morning Train” hurts my head still. Anything hair metal (including Bon Jovi). Men at Work. But for the most offensive song of 80s –one that haunts us to this day– I nominate Lee Greenwood’s “God Bless the USA.” **shudder**.

  6. Oh, yes – Lee Greenwood (BARF)

    But, I came in to nominate Kajagoogoo & Too Shy for a day of thrashing. The song, the video, the band (one hit wonder), the hair – all hideous. The worst part is that there is a radio station here which plays it a LOT – I heard it twice just last week and I honestly do not drive that much. 5 miles one way to work and then back translates to *maybe* 3 songs if there are no commercials. And yes, I got hit with that one TWICE. Put it out of its misery please!

  7. Here’s my list:

    – Radio Gaga (Queen)
    – Mr. Roboto (Styx)
    – We Built this City (Starship)
    – The Lady in Red (Chris deBurgh)
    – The War Song (Culture Club)
    – Rock and Roll is King (ELO)

  8. How could I forget that other bisyllabic abomination, Toto? “Hold the LINE! Love isn’t always ON TIME! Woah woah WOAH!” “Rosann-uh-YEAH!”

  9. Hangin’ Tough by the NKOTB (or anything by them, really…)
    Anything by Starship, Richard Marx…

    Um…let’s see…

    Kokomo by Beach Boys
    Rock On by Michael Damian
    Toy Soldiers by Martika
    That’s What Friends are For by Dionne Warwick & Friends
    On My Own – Patty Labelle & Michael McDonald
    Islands in the Stream (Dolly & Kenny) – that was the 80s, wasn’t it?
    At This Moment by Billy Vera & The Beaters. This was sooooo overplayed I thought I’d rip my head off.
    And what about Every Rose Has Its Thorn by Poison?
    Can’t Fight This Feeling by REO Speedwagon?
    Ice Ice Baby by Vanilla Ice?

    I must stop. I’m getting a headache just thinking about.

    What a November it will be around here!!

  10. Oh! Just thought of Sometimes When We Touch by Dan Hill (Egregious Canadian Content for the list).

    How about the Medley by Stars on 45? That was HORRIBLE.

    Hot for Teacher by Van Halen was pretty cringe-inducing, too.

    And pretty much anything by Rick Astley, even though I did think the recent Rick-Rolling phenomenon almost made his horrible music all worthwhile.

  11. you guys are on a roll!!!

  12. Hi, Wreke. I’m back in the blogosphere and have registered for NaBlo 2009. Let me listen to “80s on 8” on the satellite radio; I’ll give you plenty of bad music fodder. BTW, I happen to like “At This Moment” by Billy Vera and The Beaters. I must have bad taste in music.

  13. Bryan Adams — anything he sang.

    Stevie Wonder – I just called to say I love you.

    Much of Billy Joel’s 80s music — or as I call it, The Christie Years — sucks balls. The man only wrote decent music when he was depressed…

    Tiffany and Debbie Gibson – ’nuff said.

    Wilson Phillips — Gah.

    I wasn’t much of a fan of Lee Greenwood’s God Bless the USA until I heard my small 5 year old friend sing it from her car seat on the way to school after her Daddy went to Afghanistan — call me a sucker, but I was sold after that.

  14. I think that now, you, and most of your commenters, are just throwing out titles so they can shout “see, I told you it was a bad song.” Therefore, much of what y’all say is pointless. On top of that, nobody has mentioned “All I wanna Do Is Make Love To You” by Heart, yek, what was that? Calling her bastard “the one little thing” some guy, whom she meets on the side of the road, and bangs gives her? And then, a year later, she drives by the same place and sees her sperm doner walking along again. She then pleads with him to understand. Whatever, stupid, he got his, now get that lie you call a baby out of his sight.

Leave a Reply

