a month of guilty pleasure mondays: 70s

happy new year, y’all. nursing that hangover? well, if you want more pain, feel free to peruse my magical month of blatantly bad 70s songs. it will make your ears bleed.

but seriously, it’s a new year. it’s time to turn over a new leaf. one of the leaves i am working on is being kinder to the people out there in blog land. you know, the patient people who manage to endure my blatherings. (the people who probably wanted to smack me back in november.) hint: YOU.

and you know, all wasn’t horrid in 70s pop music. in fact, i have quite a few guilty pleasures. maybe you’ll like them, too? (then again, maybe you’ll laugh me off the face of the internet.)

so, all this month, i will try to feature songs i actually LURVE from the 1970s. of course, i run the risk of having people hate those, too.

but it’s my blog; and i’ll blather if i want to.

you’re welcome to put your polyester huck-a-poo shirt back on and take the ride.

and, as always, i take requests.

8 Responses to “a month of guilty pleasure mondays: 70s”

  1. You don’t have to be a star, baby… (Marilyn McCoo!)

  2. Oh thank you for your kindness 🙂

  3. ABBA – Dancing Queen
    BeeGees – Stayin Alive
    Gloria Gaynor – I will Survive

    Hmm … it appears I have a disco fetish.

  4. MiddleBro Says:

    A few more…

    Jigsaw – Sky High
    Pilot – It’s Magic
    First Class – Beach Baby
    Brownsville Station – Smokin’ In The Boys Room
    Andy Kim – Rock Me Gently
    Hues Corporation – Rock the Boat
    Grand Funk Railroad – Locomotion

  5. Hey there lady! Happy New YEAR!!!

    Oh how fun!! If the collars and the feathered bangs promise not to make a comeback… I’m down with this. 😉

  6. Elvis Costello – Watching the Detectives
    The Specials – A Message to You, Rudy
    James Gang – Tend My Garden
    Blondie – One Way or Another
    Alice Cooper – School’s Out
    Bay City Rollers – Saturday Night
    Cheap Trick – I Want You to Want Me
    Split Enz – I See Red
    XTC – Making Plans for Nigel
    Oh, I could go on and on!!! 🙂

    Happy New Year.

  7. A happy, HEALTHY new year to you, Wreke! Fave 70s songs include just about anything on Fleetwood Mac’s “Rumors” album, “It’s Raining Men,” everything by Earth, Wind & Fire, “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me,” and several others clinging to the cobwebs in my mind.

  8. Happy New Year, chicka! I love your blog and all it’s wackiness and truth. (My favorite post, by the way, was your loving letter to your baby girl. I know, I’m such a mom!)

    It’s January – we gotta get together and have a gabfest!

    Go 70s! Being a 70s baby, I didn’t become that aware of them until later. I loved Dance Fever which started in ’79!

Leave a Reply

