blatantly bad 70s songs: feelings (morris albert)

trying to forget my feelings of plagiarism…

ah, morris. or is it Maurício, as you started out life in your native brasil? i hear tell that a california court found you guilty of plagiarism in 1988, that you stole this monster of a song from french singer line renaud? well, as we all know, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. and that means that a gazillion people love this song, as it has been covered by everyone from fraaaaaank sinatra to nina simone to the offspring.

and of course, by my fave muppet, beaker.

when i was young, i would stay home from school sick and watch game shows all day long. i loved game shows and still am bummed that daytime tv lacks these gems. (and no, we don’t get the game show network, sadly.) one of the shows was the incredibly painful chuck barris creation the gong show. at age 11, i was able to discern that these folks had to be doing some serious drugs on that show. zany didn’t describe some of the moments. but the most memorable show of all was the show when every single act came on and sang feelings. the song was that ubiquitous, and someone — barris?– was having a huge laugh about it. it was one of the most hilarious shows i ever saw.

and that is how i try to remember this song whenever it comes on while i’m on hold for a doctor’s office. otherwise, i might tear my hair out, strand by strand. so sappy. so dripping with sugar.

it makes my teeth have feelings of pain.

7 Responses to “blatantly bad 70s songs: feelings (morris albert)”

  1. Beaker! I LOVE Beaker! He’s my fave!

    I can’t say the same for your song choice, though.

  2. OMG, the all time worst song of the entire world. Barf.

  3. Someday you MUST show me how to post a video. UGH!! 😉

  4. I think I had to play this at a piano recital.

  5. I think this is the one song I get ill when I listen to. I wasn’t aware that it was so popular on the Gong Show (remember the “Unknown Comedian”?) Carol Burnett did a spoof of this as Eunice. Check it out but you may want to scroll to the end for the actual performance:

  6. oops! left the wrong email.

  7. fret not! and thanks for visiting 🙂

Leave a Reply

