we are the champions

arte 7 pico award

arte y pico award

dee, over at On The Curb, has bestowed upon me an honor i will treasure for as long as i can remember without the aid of gingko biloba or yellow sticky memo pads: the arte y pico award. i don’t know spanish well, but apparently, it has something to do with art and male naughty bits. so dee tells me.

see, you may remember dee as my sister quintuple-y-removed who got the good grades in science but who ended up in alabama through no fault of her own. (when in doubt, blame your ancestors.) thank you miss dee. it means a lot, considering most of the words you say usually result in my needing a restroom because i am laughing too hard (and i’m not sure from which place which body fluid will emerge first.)

The award. Let me steal dee’s words, which she borrowed from Grandy, which, in turn, were built on a swamp and then burned down, and then… aw heck. you get the picture. and the rules. must. have. rules.

About the Arte Y Pico Award

This award was created to be given to bloggers who inspire others with their creativity and their talents, and for contributing to the blogging world in whatever medium. When you receive this award it is considered a “special honor”. Once you have received this award, you are to pass it on to 5 others. What a wonderful way to show some love and appreciation to your fellow bloggers!

The rules for passing this honor on are..

1) Pick 5 blogs that you would like to award this honor to.

2) Each award has to have the name of the author and also a link to his or her blog to be visited by everyone.

3) Each award winner has to show the award and put the name and link to the blog that has given her or him the award itself.

4) Award-winner and the one who has given the prize have to show the link of “Arte y Pico” blog, so everyone will know the origin of this award from Arte Y Pico.

my nominees, in no particular order because i love them all:

  • hey ho kelly go: the woman formerly known as o for obsessive. simply put, she’s a rockstar.
  • foolery: the east coast girls are hip; i really dig the styles they wear. and the southern girls with the way they write, they knock me out when i’m down there… but no one has much on this california girl, who makes me laugh so hard one minute and then tells touching family stories the next. and best of all, she doesn’t get offended when i quote monty python.
  • surely you nest: when i think green, when i think crunchy, when i think earth mother, and when i think of the person with the biggest heart that i know, i think of mamabird. caution: visiting her site on certain days may make you hungry
  • pillowbook: when i want to catch up on politics, learn more about the challenges of being an independent film maker, or simply follow the antics of the adorable unreliable narrator, (which i do most days), i catch up with cynematic. and i cheer her on. she’s good people.
  • pink asparagus: admittedly, pink is a new pal, found through my pal kellygo. i’m really digging her thought-provoking posts. you might, too

man, there are so many other people i heart who should get this, too. hell, if you’re on my blogs i heart list, consider yourselves nominated. cos i heart you, too. (and i have to catch up and put other folks on there. if you are missing and you want to be there, please drop me a comment and let me know. cos blog reading is fundamental.)

6 Responses to “we are the champions”

  1. Congratulations on the award! You’re most certainly arte and maybe even a little pico (um, only in the best way).

    And awwwww, thank you for a shout-out!

    PS Lordy, I am tweeting now. (@cyn3matic) Only b/c I’m afraid I might miss breaking news while at DNC.

    I believe Dorothy Parker said, What fresh hell is this?

  2. Congratulations on a well-deserved award, Miss Wreke! You make me laugh, and think, and consider, and laugh some more. PLUS you have my same Python affliction (“It works, Mate — the fat one balances out the two skinny ones”) and love for the Blues Brothers. What more could I ask for?

    Oh, I know what more — an artsy penis award! No, just kidding. But I will have to rethink serving pico de gallo salsa now, that I know . . .

    Thanks for the kind words and thoughts, and I can see that I have some more blogs to check out now. Cheers!

    — Laurie @ Foolery

  3. Aw, thanks, dude! That’s really, really nice of you.

  4. I think I got a little something in my eye. No, I’m fine. I just need a moment. Congratulations to you. Thanks for spreading the love my way. I’ll get working on passing it along.

  5. A well deserved award indeed. 🙂

  6. […] WrekeHavoc has bestowed on me the Arte y Pico award (seen to the left) because i’m really digging her thought-provoking posts. you might, too […]

Leave a Reply

