new year’s meme

it just seems like a good thing to do.

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?


  • start monthly IVIG therapy. i never would believe that i would voluntarily sit for 5+ hours with a needle in my arm every four weeks (for the rest of my life). i hatehateHATE IVs. but you do what you have to do, especially when you’re a mom. and staying alive and healthy is what it’s all about for me now.
  • take ice skating lessons. i know how to skate, but i never learned, for example, how to stop. i learned other things, too, which led to another question answer…

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?


i started to until i was derailed by a knee injury, thanks to the new ice skating lessons 😉 but i did lose a little weight. not all that i wanted, but a little. and that’s better than nothing.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?


nope. not a one.

4. Did anyone close to you die?


sadly, our little friend mason died. but he lives on in our hearts, and every time we pass key school, we think of him with his cool bike, his batman paraphenalia, and, of course, a soccer ball.

5. What countries did you visit?


grand cayman, mexico, and the republic of new jersey. oh, and the happiest country in the world, disney world. (does that count?)

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?


  • better health
  • happier, rested children and spouse
  • time and focus to write

7. What was your biggest achievement of the year?


getting a short story published for the very first time!

8. What was your biggest failure?


allowing BC to linger in a class where she was not only not learning enough but where she was terrorized by a person in authority. i will never forgive myself for this. ever.

9. Did you suffer illness or injury?


ha ha ha. very funny. besides the usual panoply of sinusitis and bronchitis, let’s see:

  • a torn PCL
  • a torn meniscus (both leading me to arthroscopic surgery)
  • CVID diagnosis
  • a gallstone
  • a request by my doctor to elect to have my gallbladder out (this will be a 2008 experience. i can’t have all the fun in one year)
  • and lest we forget the zillion CT, HIDA, and other scans i had this year, plus endoscopies and the like.

on the bright side, my platelets remained stable the entire year, which is more than i can say for 2006… ;-P
10. What was the best thing you bought?


hmmm. a year membership to the thomas jefferson community center. the workout equipment is ancient, but the people-watching is priceless.

11. Where did most of your money go?


chocolate. mortgage. computers. money market funds. probably not in that order.

12. What did you get really, really, really excited about?


springsteen going back on tour. the who going back on tour.

13. Compared to this time last year, are you:
 a) happier or sadder? 
b) thinner or fatter? 
c) richer or poorer?


a) happier

b) thinner (but not by much)

c) probably dead even.

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?


exercise. get my kids to read instead of being read to. spend more time and attention on my kids. write.

15. What do you wish you’d done less of?


house cleaning. hands effing down.

16. What was the best book you read?


the tale of despereaux. a children’s book, but an awesome read with BC.

17. What did you want and get?


tix to see springsteen.

18. What did you want and not get?


perfect health. i’ll never get that. but i am going to keep trying anyway 😉

19. What kept you sane?


my friends. my BS. my parents. and even sometimes my kids. see, my kids have a way of driving me crazy, but sometimes, i realize how incredible they are (especially when i see other kids in action.) sort of like my parents and husband, now that i think of it 😉

20. Who did you miss?


my gram and gramps. but i always miss them. i miss amy and jen-jen, and i never see them. i always miss my family in NJ. always always always.

4 Responses to “new year’s meme”

  1. Um, what is the IVIG therapy for? Whatever the case, I hope 2008 brings you happiness, health and propserity.

  2. for the CVID diagnosis. see link above 🙂

    i wish health, happiness, prosperity, and much better holiday music (or the absence thereof — your choice) next year 🙂

  3. Happy new year Wreke!!! I posted that I did your meme, but it’s actually Dee’s specifically. The sentiment’s the same.

    Let’s see if life can slow down a bit this year. 2007 just was a whirlwind of activity, wasn’t it? Or, if you’re spending a lot of it feeling ill, maybe it’s the other way around…

  4. Wreke, somehow the meme I pirated…I mean borrowed…from On the Curb didn’t ask me so much about health stuff. Thank goodness. I could so relate to you on so many levels with what you were saying, and appreciate your openness.

    Oh yea…YEAH SPRINGSTEEN!!! 😉 You had some great travels yourself this year too.

    Happy New Year!!

Leave a comment