explaining homosexuality to a 9 year old

BS left a Time Magazine on the top of the toilet as he always does. he’s always weeks behind on his quality reading, so this issue must be at least a month or so old. one headline that screams from the cover: Yep, He’s Gay.

BC and i were in the bathroom at the same time, she washing her hands and me drying mine. it was one of those slow-motion moments where i saw her eyes leap to the monosyllabic words, words she can easily read. and i knew hilarity would ensue.

mama, girlfriend said, what does that mean?

what?

“gay” she said. duh, mama.

attempting to be as matter of fact as if i were discussing butter or baseball, i replied, gay is when two people are in love with each other and they are both men or both women.

i saw girlfriend processing this one. she made an uneasy face. i wanted to head it off at the pass.

you know, buzz (one of her nicknames), i added, in this world, you are lucky if you can find someone you love who loves you back. it doesn’t really matter whether it’s a boy or a girl.

that finished it. we were both satisfied.

fin.

11 Responses to “explaining homosexuality to a 9 year old”

  1. Haha! I just love how kids process things. Unlike adults, they don’t hide their confusion or often their level of understanding.

  2. That was a beautiful explanation.

  3. thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ there are so many times words befuddle or just leave me. but i am actually learning a thing or two from my BS — he always tells me i overexplain things.

    hopefully this time, i didn’t ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. You rock. I’m putting this in the back of my brain and will pull it out when my own children are a bit older.

  5. Ooh yeh, that was a great explanation. I almost want to raise the subject with Gav just so I can give your advice. That is apparently a hot subject with the sixth graders as he c0mes home at least 2 days a week, “So and so is GAAAAYYY!” To which I’m always, “And, that matters how?”

    Good job. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. oh, i am actually relieved you had this come up. i realized after the fact that one of the books I sent to little miss has references to homosexuality in it, and i thought you might strangle me because you hadn’t had that “talk” with her yet. Phew! But, kudos to you for the cool way in which you handled it!

  7. Great explanation!! A woman after my own heart!!! I still struggle with that explanation. Thanks!!

  8. Oh, very well done. Yes, I will be filing that last line you used away as well. Perfectly said.

  9. Thanks for letting me know what to say when it will come up some day!

  10. […] CVID. i blog about whatever is unfortunate enough to cross my path. i’ve hit everything from explaining homosexuality to a nine year old to ranting about kids who are waaay too old to sit in strollers at walt disney world. it’s […]

Leave a Reply

