happy mother's day

i think it hit me at lunchtime today.

BS walked over with three mother’s day cards this year. if i had been a cartoon character, you would have heard me exclaim, “DOING!” or something equally brilliant. but it hit me, and i said, “three cards, huh?…pause… THREE CARDS!”

one card was from BS. one card was from BC (and she wrote her name all by herself, which is just wonderful đŸ™‚ and one card is from julian. BC helped.

i started to cry when i read the cards. BC looked at me puzzled. “remember, honey, how i told you that sometimes, when grownups are really happy, they cry?”

“yes, mama.”

“well, i am so very happy, and i am crying. i am not sad. trust me, when you are a grownup, you will understand this better.”

“let me go and get you tissues to dry your eyes, mama.” and she ran off to her room and brought back probably the only box of tissues left in the house. and she started dabbing my eyes.

i received three cards this year. three wonderful cards. because there is another person who has helped me to qualify to celebrate today.

and he’s almost here.

Leave a Reply

