life is very short, and there's no time for fussing and fighting, my friend

you know, i have had this song by pete townshend stuck in my head all morning. i truly hope that he has people standing by him at this time. i have no idea whether he is guilty or not, of course. and it troubles me at times that i am probably more willing to suspend judgement on him then, say, regular john doe. maybe because his public persona – his writings – show him to be a man who has been wrestling with so much inner turmoil, and so unlike john doe, i feel like i have had a mild glimpse into his mind. i really, really hope he isn't guilty.

anyway, it makes me think about friendship. now, anyone who knows me for a long time (and yes, there are people out there i have been friends with since i was 3-years-old – hi jen-jen!) – have a pretty good idea about how i feel about my friends. the close ones, anyway. i am one of those idiots who sticks out her neck for her friends, often to her own detriment. but it is a matter of principle. i can honestly say that i am lucky, too, to have people in my life who may not be blood-relatives but who feel to me to be nearly the same. i feel like they would do the same for me, too. and, in some cases, have.

it takes an immense emotional effort for me to wipe a friend out of my life completely. i can honestly say i have only done it once, and the betrayal that caused it to happen was so horrific to me, so painful, that it took me years to come to grips with it. i have a few friends out there with whom i have had arguments, fights that left us not speaking for a few years. i imagine whatever we fought about was probably my fault. but in the end, we are all smart enough to realize that we have this strong bond, and we have all come back together. one of these people (and you know who you are, too 😉 and i regularly try to remember just what we were fighting about. we've been back speaking for about 10 years, and we still cannot remember what the hell the problem was. we just laugh about it.

anyway, i guess this ramble just makes me wonder why other people are not as forgiving as i am. when i think about it, i guess i had a realization at an early age at how short life can be. life is too fleeting to hold a grudge for too long. i am ashamed for the times i have held grudges – it has been a waste of energy. i even sometimes look back at the one person who i have banished (and who knows, i, too, may be banished from that life as well, so we may actually be waving to each other on Elba without even knowing it) and wonder whether i did the right thing.

anyway, i hope pete has friends. forgiving friends.

pete townshend
from ironman

HOGARTH
When eyes meet in silence
A pact can be made
A life-long alliance
That won't be betrayed
Be friendly, befriend me now
Be friendly

A friend is a friend
Nothing can change that
Arguments, squabbles
Can't break the contract
That each of you makes
To the death, to the end
Deliver your future
Into the hands of your friend

WOODLAND CREATURES
Be friendly, befriend me now
(repeat 2 times)
Be friendly

HOGARTH
A promise is a promise
A handshake will seal it
No amount of discussion
Can ever repeat it
Commitment forever
To borrow or lend
Deliver your future
Into the hands of your friend
Be friendly, befriend me now
(repeat 2 times)
Be friendly

When eyes meet in silence, A pact can be made
BADGER You need a pact
A life-long alliance, That won't be betrayed
CROW Won't be betrayed
You need a mate
BADGER You need a mate
When facing the end
What is the fate
BADGER What is the fate
Now facing my friend
Facing my friend
What faces my friend
Be friendly, befriend me now
(repeat 2 times)

HOGARTH and WOODLAND CREATURES
A friend is a friend
Nothing can change that
Arguments, squabbles
Can't break the contract
That each of you makes
To the death, to the end
Deliver your future
Into the hands of your friend

HOGARTH
Be friendly now
Be friendly now
Be friendly, befriend me now

Leave a Reply

