…and i gained 6 pounds in one month

i hatehateHATE having my time wasted. today, i was scheduled to have my monthly OB appointment at 2:45. i dutifully got into the pay garage at 2:30 (yes, you have to pay since my OB's office is in the annex to our local hospital, and oftentimes, there is NO PARKING AVAILABLE, so it is like freaking russian roulette) and even was able to find a parking spot in the bowels of the building. well. guess when the doctor finally saw me? 3:45. in that time, i read 4 magazines, coughed a lot, and fell asleep in the examining room.

and of course, the longer you are in the garage, the more you pay. not that it is going to break the bank at monte carlo, but it is the principle of the thing, you know.

grrr. i'd like to charge them MY hourly rate for wasting my time.

meanwhile, what was the BEST part about my visit? the OB asking me why i didn't take the AFP test. i told her: the genetic counselor told me not to bother since i had the CVS test. the genetic counselor told me that my age alone would throw me into the category of “must-have amnio”. “that's curious,” the OB said. “actually, they usually counsel people who have had CVSs to HAVE an AFP test. in fact,” she said, going through my chart, “look at the letter they wrote.” and sure enough, on the letter, they recommend that i take the test. (do I get a copy of the fucking letter? of course not. just the doctor does.) of course, now the TIME has passed for me to take the test, so i can't do a fucking thing about it. hopefully, all is well anyway – they probably would have spotted a spina bifida problem during my ultrasound (i hope), so hopefully this is all a moot point.

but don't piss me off today. i am good and mad and sick and hormonal. and sleep deprived. i can't take much in the way of medicine to help this viral infection i have, i can't take a decongestant, and basically all i am left with is plain robitussin and tylenol.

don't push me cos i'm close to the edge.

Leave a Reply

