blatantly bad 70s songs: escape (the pina colada song) (rupert holmes)

if you don’t want to hear this, go get drunk and escape.

escape (the pina colada song) is the last hit of the 1970s and the first hit of the 1980s.  (if i had realized this at the dawn of that decade, i would have crawled into a cave and waited for the 1990s to come.) it didn’t start out as a monster hit; most people didn’t get it when it was simply called escape. but hell — they knew the pina colada part, so some smart record company stiff added (the pina colada song) and the song went like gangbusters.

i couldn’t drink (legally) at age 14 when this song came out. i didn’t like wussy songs that talked about getting caught in the rain or some froo-froo coconut concoction. i liked the cars; i liked blondie; i liked the police; i liked tom petty and the heartbreakers. in short, i liked things that either rocked or gave me new wave chills. this song did none of the above; it merely seemed like a monotonous radio death march, accessible for married people over 40.

now that i am a married person over 40, i come to this song with a new appreciation. well, maybe appreciation is not quite the word i’m after. annoyance, i suppose. i mean, think about it: if i was dissatisfied with my beloved spouse (AKA BS) and i put a classified out there in the world looking for Mr-Right-Take-Two (in the manner that the singer, a passive-aggressive bastard who can’t actually talk to his girlfriend about their relationship, did); and if i went to that smoky bar and found out that the ad had been answered by BS, would i be laughing with BS about the fact that we have so very much in common? would i be thrilled that the classified had brought us together?

hell, no. i’d be calling up a lawyer.

gee whiz, if i were writing a classified ad to this song, i think it would go something like this:

if you like drinking mojitos,

watching my name is earl,

if you obsess over music

know divine‘s not a girl.

if you think sushi’s overrated

and you love a mixtape,

i’m the lady you’ve looked for,

come with me and escape.

then they’d be playin’ my song.

19 Responses to “blatantly bad 70s songs: escape (the pina colada song) (rupert holmes)”

  1. I actually heard this yesterday (and wondered if it would make you list!) GOOD ONE. Oh – one to recommend, too: Hot Butter’s Popcorn?

  2. I really listened to the lyrics on this one for the first time while cleaning out the minivan earlier this week. Holy cheatin’ bastards! They were made for each other. Yeh, a disgusting song.

    Hope you’re feeling better already!

  3. First of all – I hope you are on the mend!!

    Second of all…for some reason I always loved this song..loved it while fully wallowing in all it’s badness. I’d way rather be singing this all night than that other damn song you got stuck in my brain!! Yes, they be cheatin’ fools all right. But at least they are not singing about never being to me. Bleargh.

  4. And apparently all he has to say when his wife walks in the bar is, “Aw, it’s you!” Now if I were writing this song (or someone with a better-developed sense of irony, like Randy Newman or someone), his wife would walk into the bar, say, “Aw, it’s you!”…and keep walking until she takes her seat next to her date for the evening, her Fabio-esque paramour.

  5. I am so glad you brought this up, I too hate that part of the song when the girlfriend (his “lady”) says, “Ah, it’s you.” Hahahaha Yeah, right!
    I like your ad better.

  6. Your re-writing lyrics to popular songs reminds me of this book I’m reading: “Such A Pretty Fat,” by Jen Lancaster.

    Hope you are recovering rapidly from the surgery.

  7. Enjoyed your whack a the pina colada song. Check out my evisceration of the same here: http://midstthehum.blogspot.com/2008/11/worst-songs-in-history-part-1.html.

  8. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. cheers

    My homepage web site ( Marty – http://www.go2album.com/pg/groups/3888509/top-tips-for-taking-care-of-your-teeth/ )

  9. hey there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you update this again soon.

    Take a look at my blog … web page – Casimira – https://heello.com/gabbyguru6827 ,

  10. What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious know-how regarding unpredicted feelings.

    Stop by my homepage: web site; Samuel – http://yniruq.wordpress.com/2014/08/09/wills-101-take-action-yourself-or-hire-a-will-attorney/ ,

  11. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really
    nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future.
    Many thanks

  12. I pay a visit day-to-day a few websites and blogs to read
    posts, but this blog offers feature based articles.

  13. I think this is among the most significant info for me. And i am
    glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The website style is wonderful,
    the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  14. When some one searches for his required thing, thus he/she wants to be available that in detail, thus that
    thing is maintained over here.

  15. For latest news you have to pay a visit the web and on web I found this site as a finest web page for newest
    updates.

  16. I have read several excellent stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how much effort you place to create the sort of magnificent informative website.

  17. Hi there to every one, because I am in fact keen of reading this web site’s post
    to be updated regularly. It includes fastidious data.

  18. Hey! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I had to
    ask. Does managing a well-established blog like yours take a large amount of work?
    I’m completely new to running a blog however I do write in my
    diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share
    my experience and views online. Please let me
    know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips
    for brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  19. you’re truly a excellent webmaster. The website loading velocity is amazing.
    It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique
    trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you have done a great process in this subject!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

